Sade - Promise (1985) album cover.
Episode 09

Sade - Promise (1985)

We take a break from the usual rock and folk to explore the legendary R&B soulstress Sade and her second studio album Promise, and how with the help of her incredible backing band were able to cut through the 80's pop formula with their unique blend of jazz, R&B and soul.

Episode Tracklist

  • Sade - "The Sweetest Taboo"
  • Preoccupations - "Solace"
  • The Internet - "Dontcha"
  • Sade - "War Of The Hearts"
  • Sade - "Mr. Wrong"
  • Sade - "Tar Baby"
  • Marvin Gaye - "I Wanna Be Where You Are"