Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights (2002) album cover.
Episode 13

Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights (2002)

This week we explore the melancholic soundscapes of Interpol's debut album Turn On The Bright Lights. The emotional punch that this album packs is the perfect mix of somber and powerfully passionate in a way that, beyond their red ties and sleek haircuts, made Interpol stand out amongst the slew of bands from that era. Between the angular guitars of Daniel Kessler, the baritone attack of Paul Bank's vocals, and the one-two punch of Carlos D. on bass and Sam Fogarino on drums - Interpol delivers one of the most memorable releases to come out of the New York post-punk revival of the early 2000s.

Episode Tracklist

  • Interpol - "Obstacle 1"
  • Club 8 - "Kill Kill Kill"
  • The Stills - "Of Montreal"
  • Interpol - "Untitled"
  • Interpol - "Obstacle 2"
  • Interpol - "The New"
  • The Warlocks - "Song For Nico"

Sidetrack: Echo & The Bunnymen - "Show of Strength" (1981)

Following last week's episode on Interpol's debut album Turn On The Bright Lights, we focus on new wave's "chumps from Liverpool", Echo & The Bunnymen, and their second studio album from 1981, Heaven Up Here. The album's dark, moody, somber vibes puts us in the same headspace as Interpol's TOTBL. With frontman Ian McCulloch's imperfect & strained vocals, & guitarist Will Sergeant's reverbed & angular stylings, it's no wonder Interpol was often compared to Echo & The Bunnymen.