CAN - Tago Mago (1971) album cover.
Episode 21

CAN - Tago Mago (1971)

The Prodigal Twin returns to nerd out with Quentin over Tago Mago, the third studio album from experimental krautrock band CAN. Damo Suzuki, with his eerie whispers and his nasty shrieks, steps in as lead vocalist after years of busking in the streets of Munich, and CAN feels fully realized and complete...The Gods of Krautrock are born.

Episode Tracklist

  • CAN - "Paperhouse"
  • Two Knights - "Regina's Specter"
  • Mountain Witch - "The Covey"
  • CAN - "Mushroom"
  • CAN - "Oh Yeah"
  • CAN - "Bring Me Coffee Or Tea"
  • Chet Baker - "Time After Time (Live In Belgium, 1964)"

Sidetrack: The Fall - "I Am Damo Suzuki" (1985)

On this week's Sidetrack we listen to 70's post-punk band The Fall's "I Am Damo Suzuki". The Fall's members are all big fans of CAN, and this song pulls riffs and drumbeats from the Gods of Krautrock, and includes lyrics loosely based around the life and times of one of CAN's most influential frontmen Damo Suzuki.


  • CAN - "Bel Air"
  • The Fall - "I Am Damo Suzuki"