Animal Collective - Sung Tongs (2004) album cover.
Episode 19

Animal Collective - Sung Tongs (2004)

We explore the experimental and unconventional sounds of Animal Collective with a look at their 2004 album Sung Tongs. Avey Tare and Panda Bear's unique use of harmonies and repetition on this album are what make it such a compelling experimental record. This album ultimately proves to be the blueprint and stepping stone for the sounds and techniques heard on their 2009 album Merriweather Post Pavillion, their most well-received and commercially successful release to date.

Episode Tracklist

  • Animal Collective - "Who Could Win A Rabbit"
  • Yawning Man - "Catamaran"
  • Black Moth Super Rainbow - "Baby's In The Void"
  • Animal Collective - "Leaf House"
  • Animal Collective - "The Softest Voice"
  • Animal Collective - "Sweet Road"
  • Animal Collective - "College"
  • Animal Collective - "Mouth Wooed Her"
  • Animal Collective - "Visiting Friends"
  • Silver Apples - "Oscillations"

Sidetrack: Black Dice - "Tree Tops" (2004)

Fresh off the heels of our Animal Collective episode, we keep things weird for this week's Sidetrack with a look at Black Dice's "Tree Tops" and "Skeleton" from their 2004 release Creature Comforts. We really tried to understand and enjoy the noisiness of these noise tracks, but the lack of song structures and melodies just left us scratching our heads.